Introductory session on Outcome based Education system (OBE)

20/09/2017 - 9:22pm

Introductory session on Outcome based Education system (OBE)

Department of Electronic Engineering 

On 19th Sept, 2017 an introductory session on OBE based education was arranged in Department of Electronic Engineering, Mehran University of Engineering and Technology, Jamshoro. This session was started by the recitation from the Holy Quran by Mr. Aamir Ali Patoli that was followed by welcome speech by the chairperson Prof. Dr. Wajiha Shah.

In her welcome speech, she emphasized that globally education system has shifted from conventional to outcome driven that aims to produce graduates adequately equipped with technical along with soft skills (i.e., communication, teamwork, leadership and managerial) that are in conformity with today‚Äôs market needs, is the gist of what is termed as Outcome based Education (OBE) System. Restructuring the existing curricula in accordance with the OBE system is now the essential requirement for every engineering discipline in order to get its program accredited by Pakistan Engineering Council. Realizing this urgency and intentions of Prof. Dr. Bhawani Shankar Chowdhry, DEAN FEECE and Member PEC for becoming OBE based accreditation from PEC, we have been continuously taking pragmatic steps for the implementation of OBE model in Electronic Engineering Department in both letter and spirit. This lecture is continuation of that effort.



Dr. Tayab Din Memon, Associate Professor of the department and also a member of National curriculum review committee (NCRC) delivered a well-articulated talk followed by a lengthy and lively discussion. He opined that implementing OBE based system entails concerted efforts by all the relevant quarters involved including faculty members, the university management and industry. He mainly focused on theories behind OBE, Blooms taxonomy and its implementation in curriculum design inlined with HEC/PEC guidelines.


This lecture was ended by vote of thanks by Dr. Arbab Nighat, professor department of Electronic Engineering and committee chair for OBE based curriculum implementation in department of Electronic Engineering.