MUET stands Runners up in NASCON'12 Organized by Fast-National University, Islamabad

16/05/2012 - 12:37am

NASCON, National Solutions Convention 2012 was an event organized by FAST Student Societies in April 2012.National Solutions Convention 2012 aims at solving the problems of Pakistan by giving direction to the youth in aligning their passions with their academia to secure a brighter future.

NASCON is an annual technology event where students, academia and industry professionals cherish the talent concealed within the youth of Pakistan. Organized by FAST Student Societies as a combined effort, this mega event seeks to encompass competitions and contests in major technical fields including Engineering, I.T and management bonded by social and youth empowerment events. It is held every year at FAST-NU, Islamabad with focus on instilling the practical experiences from the industry, the visionary leadership of the faculty and the vibrant energy of the students through relevant talks and workshops.

In the Event of NASCON’12 three types of events held that were Engineering, Business and Various Social events. The students of Electronics department of Mehran UET, Jamshoro participated in the Engineering Project based Competition in which universities from across the country participated with their numerous latest and futuristic hardware based Projects and they were judged depending upon the market compatibility of their engineering project, and their innovative thinking.

The Engineering Project based Competition was held on 21st of April 2012 in FAST-NU Islamabad campus. In the starting phase of the contest the participants were asked about the technical perspective and there novel work in the project. In second phase the judges asked about the cost and the application of the presented projects. The first prize went to FAST-NU, Lahore Project which was “MATLAB based Color Following Robot”, and Mehran UET, Jamshoro won the Runner up prize and there project was “GPS based Autonomous Car with Wi-Fi Controlled”. The Students of Mehran university that won this prize are from 08 Electronics batch namely Syed Assad Ashraf 08ES113 (Group leader), Syed Zeeshan Ali 08es108, Abdur Rehman Afridi 08es11, Zawar Khan 08es103, Talha Hyderie 08es116, and Qazi Mohammed Jawwad 08es107.