A Brief History

Industrial and technological development in Pakistan has been quite rapid since its independence and particularly during the sixties and seventies. The main fields of development have been related to the enhancement of agriculture, establishment and up-gradation of industries and exploration of its indigenous resources. This development has resulted in increased demand for qualified engineers in different fields in addition to other professionals. In order to meet this demand and to provide an opportunity of engineering education to the people hailing from the interior of Sindh Province, Sindh University Engineering College was established in 1963 as a constituent college of University of Sindh (then spelt 'Sind') in Jamshoro about 15 km. from Hyderabad on the right bank of river Indus. 

The Education Policy of 1972 provided for upgradation of the Sindh University Engineering College to the level of a University of Engineering and Technology. Accordingly, the college was first declared as an additional campus of the University of Sindh headed by a Pro-Vice-Chancellor in July 1976 and later upgraded to the level of a fully fledged independent University on 1st March, 1977 through an ordinance issued by the Government of Sindh. The ordinance was later converted into an Act of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh Province. Initially, the Additional Campus as well the Mehran University was established in the City of Nawabshah. However, in 1979, the Act of the University was amended and the seat of the University was retained at Jamshoro, while a constituent college was maintained at Nawabshah which has also become an independent university in 1996.

In order to promote Engineering education to the people of interior Sindh at their door step, the Government of Sindh established a constituent college of Mehran University of Engineering & Technology named as “Mehran University College of Engineering & Technology, Khairpur Mir’s”. The college has been upgraded as a Campus of Mehran University of Engineering & Technology, Jamshoro, and renamed as “Mehran University of Engineering & Technology, Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto Khairpur Mir’s Campus”

The number of students admitted to the First Year classes of all the disciplines under regular scheme at Jamshoro is 1053 out of which 1000 candidates are admitted from Sindh Province, including Karachi Division, according to a precisely calculated ratio of population and other considerations. 34 applicants are admitted from other parts of Pakistan while 19 seats are reserved for the foreigners. Whereas under Self Finance Scheme and Special Scheme 548 and 86 candidates are admitted from Sindh province respectively.

The number of students admitted to the First Year classes of all four disciplines at Khairpur Mir’s Campus is 244 out of which 60 candidates are admitted under Self Finance Scheme. The detailed distribution of the seats is given in Prospectus. 

Most of the laboratories and workshops of the teaching departments are properly equipped and practical as well as demonstrational training is imparted to the students wherever applicable. Continuous efforts are ongoing to upgrade these facilities for the practical training and new equipment is acquired for this purpose. Additionally, training to the concerned staff is also organized within the University as well as outside. In some cases, where the training facilities are not available within the University, the students are sent to suitable institutes in Karachi or elsewhere to undergo adequate training. Every department has been provided adequate number of personal computers and e-mail and Internet facilities for the training and use of the students as well teaching staff.

The postgraduate courses were started in the University in 1978 leading to Master’s Degree, initially, in three branches. At present, courses are offered in the specialized fields of ‘Structural Engineering, Civil Engineering, Geo-technical and Highway Engineering, Construction Management, City and Regional Planning, Irrigation and Drainage Engineering, Environmental Engineering & Management, Manufacturing Engineering, Energy Systems Engineering , Chemical Engineering, Industrial Engineering & Management, Mining Engineering, Metallurgy and Materials Engineering, Telecommunication and Control Engineering, Telecommunication Engineering & Management, Communication Systems Network, Information Technology, Telemedicine & e-Health Systems, Software Engineering, Computer & Information Technology, Electrical Power Engineering and Electronic System Engineering. Some courses are offered full time during the day while others are conducted during the evenings. The degrees to be awarded may be Post-graduate Diploma (P.G.D.), Master of Engineering (M.E.), Master of Science (M.S), Master of Philosophy (M. Phil.) or Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.); depending upon the quality and quantity of the research/work completed.

Post-graduate studies and research are organized by various departments as well as the following specialized institutes.

  • Institute of Water  Resource Engineering & Management
  • Institute of Environmental Engineering and Management
  • Institute of Petroleum & Natural Gas Engineering
  • Institute of Information & Communication Technologies
  • Mehran University Institute of  Science & Technology Development
  • Directorate of Post-graduate Studies

More details about the Post-graduate courses, curricula, duration, fees, etc., are provided separately in the Prospectus of Post-graduate studies; which may be obtained from the office of the Director, of the Institute concerned.

Hostel facilities are also available for about 1000 students on the campus both male and female; which are located at walking distance from the teaching departments. These hostels are equipped with necessary facilities including bathrooms, reading rooms, game rooms, dining halls, etc. Other facilities available for the students include medical care, transport, games and recreation, Library and so on.